The Home Owner’s Vortex


So this weekend was crazy. Not bad crazy, just kind of you know…crazy. Friday was Alex’s birthday as I pointed out 29 different ways here. Saturday he worked extra hours and then he came home and we headed to my parents house to celebrate birthdays AND Mother’s Day. Sunday he worked again for a bit, and then off we went to his dad’s house for Ribs, Potato Salad, and Coleslaw as a birthday celebration meal. In all of this I also did laundry, dusted all the fans, cleaned the spare bedroom & office room blinds, and swept the entire house while he mowed the rest of the lawn. Finally we hit up Home Depot.

Have you ever discovered that for all new home buyers Home Depot (or Lowes or Ace …you get the idea) is the Mecca of all shops? When you were a kid you would go with your parent, in my case typically my dad, and try to entertain yourself while your father wandered up and down the aisles. You’d run through the kitchen section because it was by far the coolest section of said store just wondering why on earth your dad felt the need to stare at screws for twenty something minutes. I mean, for gosh sake, you could have picked out entire boxes of these things by now!

Now as a home owner I find Alex and I do the same thing. In we go and I’ll go stand in flooring or paint or sometimes even bump it up a notch and work my way over to faucets and just stare. I contemplate what would work best throughout the house while balancing our budget and the reality of our needs for the house. While, in the meantime, Alex stands in the garage or lumber section mentally calculating how to fit wood into our teenytiny entrance for our attic so we can actually you know, use it. Invariably we’ll have gone to the store for two eyebolt screws and walk out with 3 jars of paint samples, 6 samples of paint colors, a wood flooring sample, ideas for how to re-work our closet space, 2 eye bolts, 2 actual nuts, twine, and a discussion on what else we found. I’m telling you that store is a VORTEX OF HOME IMPROVEMENT!

3 responses to “The Home Owner’s Vortex

  1. Oh yeah. We have gotten babysitters and gone on DATES to Home Depot. I finally had to quit going in there though because it just instills major discontent in my soul when I think of all the things I want but can not have.

    Thanks for stopping by my blog today. 🙂

    • Dates huh? Seems like it might be a good idea to me, but you are totally right. The sheer number of items that I cannot take home with me does make my little green monster rear up. 🙂

      Thanks for checking out my blog!

  2. Pingback: A Change is a coming. « A Married Couple's Adventures