Freddie K’s in the house!


Scariest.Morning.Ever! ok so its probably not the scariest ever, but I was still pretty freaked out at 5 a.m. this morning.

As I’ve mentioned in the past, Alex, as part of his job, is currently required to work overtime. Overtime that we love the pay for, but hate the hours. Something about a 12 hour day with a 2:30 a.m. wake up call just kinda stinks. Ya know? Anywho, on top of that this week I’ve been getting up to feed my parents’ cats as they are starving (read: Fat, hungry for anything including but not limited to potato chips, bread loaves – from the middle of course, and the all time favorite ice cream) every morning after wasting away during the night. So I get up at 5:30 so I can get out of my door to go to their door prior to work. Well this morning I woke up at 5 a.m. to the LOUDEST crash that sounded like shattering glass. Woke up the cat that was in bed with me and the other one comes streaking into our bedroom and onto the bed all freaked out. Me? I was perfectly fine. NOT! I woke up but didn’t move while I listened for any unusual sounds. Upon hearing nothing I slowly reached my hand out and grabbed my cell-phone before calling Alex at work.

Stephanie: Honey. I need you to stay on the phone with me. SomethingjustcrashedanditsoundedlikeglassanditsdarkandI’malone and I am SERIOUSLY FREAKED OUT BABE!

Alex: Wait, what? Baby, what’s going on?

Stephanie: Something just crashed and it sounded like glass and its dark and I’m alone. I mean it Honey….I heard a crash. I think someone might have tried breaking into our house. I’m gonna go check it out, but I want you to stay on the phone with me. Ok?

(aren’t I the kind soul?? Here poor Alex is, his wife calling him at 5:30 a.m. home all by herself to report a potential break in and what is she about to do??? Why go examine it of course! Never mind I don’t have a flashlight, a large shoe, really anything but two equally terrified cats who are practically tripping me in order to stay under my feet and safe at all times. Does anyone else hear the violin music?)

Alex: Ok. I’m here. Go into the living room.

Stephanie: Ok…here I go. (this is where it starts to look like a farce of a horror movie as I go creeping along and flicking lights on as I go) Nope. Nothing. Not even a broken figurine or mirror from the cats playing. (yea….they do that. A lot. Who needs kids when you have two rambunctious cats)

Alex: Ok go into the kitchen. The laundry room. The garage.

Stephanie: THE GARAGE!?!?! Are you nuts??? I can’t see into there without opening the door! Oh my gosh Oh my gosh Oh my gosh. (I opened the door so quickly I think I re-freaked out my cats, glanced around really really fast before slamming it shut and locking it.)

Alex: Anything??

Stephanie: Nothing. Ok I’m going to go check the spare rooms. … Nothing!!!!! What is going on Alex?!?!?

Alex: Sweetie I don’t know. Go get ready for work and I’ll check it out when I get home.

So that is exactly what I did. I got dressed, made my lunch, double checked EVERYTHING again, and then hauled rear from the garage door to the car door just in case. I also slammed it shut and locked it before starting it despite no signs whatsoever of entry into our actual garage.

And now? Now I get to go home and look ridiculous because it was probably something super simple that Alex will find and be like Jeez Wife. Why are you so psychotic? And I’ll have to hide my face and turn beat red because that’s how I roll folks. That is how I roll. What about you? What do YOU do when you are frightened? Do you go check it out like the classic horror movie quick to die victim like me or are you the hero? Me? I wouldn’t make it past the opening credits.

3 responses to “Freddie K’s in the house!

  1. Grandma Judy

    You’ve been reading too many scary books! (grin)
    Hopefully you were just dreaming.
    Made your heart pound, didn’t it?!!!!!

  2. I honestly wouldn’t make it past the opening credits sometimes. Although, if life was like a B-rated horror movie, then I could probably be the heroine! 🙂 But in this case, I would have done the same thing you did. I would have been calling Josh (the boyfriend), and add tears, cause I would have been crying cause I was so scared. So I’m curious as to what it was that got the cats and yourself so scared?