What a (spot)light!


Well first and foremost, Happy Monday everyone! I sure didn’t expect it to go this way, especially after this morning.

Alex and I, ok mostly me but Alex gets lumped in here too because we share a bed and all, have had trouble sleeping lately. I’m not sure what the issue is, but it seems every night around 2 a.m. one of us wakes up all hot and upset because 1. We are up at 2 a.m. for no reason at all (something that would make even the nicest person grumpy after a week or more) and 2. We are hot. We are sticky. We are just darn uncomfortable! So the last two nights I had had enough. When one of us woke up I would move to the guest room and crash there, but last night. Last night I kicked Alex out of bed because I wasn’t moving. No sirree! He was going to have to get out of bed, trip across the cats into the hall, stumble his big toe into the corner of the guest bed frame, and sleep in the glowing light room! As I’m a big ol’ meanie I shoved the other two males (our cats Harley and Beezle) right out that door with him. (just call me Mrs. Troll, at least I got a good night sleep)

Beezle and Harley respectively

Then, this morning. Something AMAZING happened.

Alex woke up first. No, for all of you who know him, let me repeat that so you can see I really mean it, Alex. Woke. Up. First. AMAZING! MARVELOUS! A MIRACLE ON 34TH STREET!

That right there is the first time he has ever in our 2 and a half years of living together, woken up before my morning sunshine self does. Not only that, but he made me coffee.  He kissed me goodbye, and he went out the door on his day off before I got out of bed just because. I was astounded and honestly starting to think I was dreaming. And then, then my “Monday-day” began.

As I stumbled into the kitchen all bleary eyed into the kitchen to get a cup of coffee, I heard a “slurp, slurp” and what pray tell did you think I saw? Why Beezle my oldest, my sweetheart, my special ed cat….drinking coffee like he was dying in the Sahara desert. Out of a puddle. Across my counter top, across my floor, and not a drop in the coffee pot to be found because it had sprung a leak.  So I finish getting ready and out the door before heading into the office. Where that “Monday-day” continues in a flood of work. Nothing huge, just stuff that leads you to reply when asked how your day has gone that it “Was a Monday.”

And then, the sunshine lit upon my face in the form of a very nice comment by Ms Sweet Pea. See, she has a blog. ( A very nice blog that you really want to go check out because she has some supper yummy recipes up that I will now need to indulge in! Like Tai Tacos. YUM!!!!) And on her super fabulous blog, she has a special section all about newlyweds. And she would like to interview me! I feel so special, so privileged so “OH.MY.GOSH is my face breaking out in pimples as we speak because some likes me!!!” high-school giddy. So that’s what I’m going to do – now I’ll post a reminder about this in a few weeks when she publishes the interview, but for now. Please go check her out!

And after all this, I get to go home and enjoy cooking dinner. 🙂

3 responses to “What a (spot)light!

  1. Grandma Judy

    This blog made me laugh out loud! I’ve had Monday-days like yours.
    So you now have a bed in your guest room…….I guess it will be Alex’s sometimes.
    Do you have air-conditioning?
    Wait until you have hot flashes. You’ll think you will never sleep again!

  2. Wow that is a great way to wake up, I know when my hubs gets up before me with coffee that’s a good thing.

    So glad I could brighten your day also, looking forward to the interview!

  3. How nice of Beezle to help you clean up like that. I’ve been reading Jenna’s blog for a couple of years now – how fun that you get to be featured there! Congrats!