Down from the Mountain Top


Oh My . . . I’m lame. I had this typed up yesterday, ready to post. Then I fell asleep on the couch. I have no idea what’s going on, but I apologize.

Whew! We’ve gone from the sandy beaches of south Florida to the mountains of North Georgia in just a single week and what a blast we’ve had! Our latest adventure took us to the Blue Ridge Mountains of North Georgia where we stayed in a lovely cabin celebrating our one year anniversary. It was truly magnificent.

Our trip this weekend was short, just overnight really, but we headed out Saturday evening after Alex got home from work. What should have only taken us an hour and a half drive ended up taking us quite a bit longer because we got lost and stopped at a grocery store to grab some food for the weekend. The getting lost wasn’t too bad, but when you are driving up a single vehicle wide gravel road into the woods it’s rather disconcerting trying to count the number of “driveways” (and yes I use that term loosely since half of them were just dark lanes into the woods) trying to find the correct turn off for your “street.” We were mightily impressed by the number of small cars that made it up this road since Alex in his 4WD Jeep Wrangler had trouble once or twice. Still we made it to the cabin and made a point to relax each and every minute of our two days.

We lounged in the hot tub, sat by the fireplace, cuddled on the couch, rocked in the porch swing, admired the views, and explored downtown Blue Ridge. While in downtown we had our little “anniversary” lunch at this lovely restaurant called (I think) Harvest On Main. We loved the fact that they use as much local product as possible. Fruit from the local orchards. Meat from the local ranch. Milk products from the local dairy. And so on. In fact while we were there, the chef had to run out and go grocery shopping for dinner. Plus the staff were super nice, our waitress took a picture of us for our celebratory meal. (But I think it’s a lame picture of me….)

I have to admit, I did take pictures, but not nearly as many as I thought I would because I was too busy having fun with my husband. While were in downtown Blue Ridge I was able to snap a few shots of the town as well as some nature shots of the local landscaping. I was able to get a lot of ideas and inspiration for how to decorate our house for fall.

From the local flowers –

To the general look of the town –

To the gorgeous views at from our cabin at sunrise –

And sunset –

Everything made the weekend a smash! We can’t wait to go up there again as the one downer to our whole weekend, was the apple picking we had planned to do at Hillcrest Apple Orchard only happens on the weekends and we didn’t find that out till Monday. Poor planning on my part! Oh well, at least we were able to celebrate our 1st anniversary together. So all in all I’m happy!

4 responses to “Down from the Mountain Top

  1. Ramblings of a Singleton

    Great pics, as always! Sounds like you had a blast 🙂

  2. Why thank you and we did. I know you are from Dublin, but if you ever do get to Blue Ridge, GA totally check out that restaurant.

  3. That’s not a lame picture at all. You both look happy and young and in love. 🙂