Spreading the Wealth


Do you know what you do each day? Or has your day become a bit of an auto-pilot? You know, you get up, grab clothes, shower, brush teeth, dressed, COFFEE, out to the door, drive to work, WORK, drive home, fix dinner, do laundry and bed. Rinse and repeat! I’m sure there are variations for all of us, but for most of us it’s pretty standard. Do you think about the people you meet each day? Have you ever considered they might need an extra smile, or a cup o’ joe, or even a “Hey how are you?” because their day/week/life is just a little stressful right now. Don’t you love it when someone lets you in traffic (I sure do! Thank you kind person who let me out at a green light this morning instead of just pushing through and making me wait till the next red.) or gives you a little card that says “Good Job!”

In one month, on November 1st, a challenge will be issued. It may seem hard or overwhelming at first, but I’m sure we can all do it. It’s called the 30-Day Giving Challenge. And I’m going to participate. See my little button on the left…

Click it.

Grab it.

Participate.

It’s not that hard, not if you really think about it…all you have to do is think of something nice to do for one person every single day. Let the mom with the crying baby in front of you in the grocery store. Give a dollar to the kids selling popcorn for their Boy Scout troop even if you don’t want the popcorn. Bring someone a cup of their favorite drink without letting them pay. SMILE at someone. Everyone can do that!

If you go here or click on my button you can read more about this challenge and get a button for your page. Plus you can sign up and join the blogroll of great givers! Plus you can grab a free calendar (and you me…I LOVE my calendars) and mark off what you have done each day. As soon as I get smart I’m going to figure out how to add this calendar into a page all by itself so you can see how I’m doing. I think accountability is key and if I share and YOU share, we can each give (look at that, so much giving already) each other ideas on how to give more and more.

So…Starting on November 1st, 2010 I WILL be joining in the 30-Day Giving Challenge. Will you?

If you do participate, let me know and I’ll add you to my blogroll on my Giving page so that others can see your ideas.

6 responses to “Spreading the Wealth

  1. Living at home, my day becomes pretty routine… I was actually fussing about this to Noah the other day, how soemtimes I feel like all I do is wake up, get ready for work, go to wrok, work, come home, do chores, help mom, and go to sleep. I feel a lot of days I have no time in the day to really enjoy being with others, even my family. While I’m with them, there’s so much going on that there’s little ME time left. Hopefully when I move out, it’ll get better and I’ll stop being so damn domestic. As for the giving challenge, I’ll do it with ya.

    🙂

  2. Ouch you make sounding domestic like a bad thing! But I hear ya, the every day does need to be broken up by the unusual in order to more enjoyed. And I’m glad you’ll be doing this challenge with me!

  3. Grandma Judy

    I try hard to do at least one good deed a day when I’m out and about. It’s a good feeling and I know it helps the person I’m doing the good deed for.
    Now if I could control my road rage all winter when the old slow drivers arrive from up north…………

  4. Grandma – I find it vastly amusing that the old drivers from out of FL annoy you when its the old drivers from FL that annoy us!

  5. What a great idea! I’m gonna go check it out right now. I think it’s a good reminder to be a little less selfish. I know I get completely wrapped up in my own life sometimes. It’s amazing how a small gesture can make someone else’s day better. Great post!

  6. @Nikkolish – that is so great! November is going to be so much fun. Be sure to check back in November for a running update on what I’ve done each day 🙂