When Planning a Road Trip


I just want to take a quick moment to thank all of you, my interweb friends, for the support you’ve shown me. I don’t know how many of you stop by regularly or how many of you are the once-in-awhile viewers, but either way you’ve pushed me up and over 5,000 page views. So my many thanks, appreciation, and love to each of you!

Now then, enough with the sappy on to reality.

Road Trip Y’ALL!

That’s right I’m planning a road trip to Savannah, GA by way of Swainsboro.  Now normally I wouldn’t do this sort of thing, because I’m a homebody. That’s right, I’m happiest snuggled up on my couch under a blanket, with the fire blazing, and my hubby by my side. What can I say, I’m introverted.

But, this trip came about because more friends are getting married. (I told y’all it was wedding season round here. Which is similar to hunting season ‘cept you only get one shot. Unless it’s a shotgun wedding. Teheheh) And I’m wanted as a creative eye. That and they like me. They really really like me!

Anyway, it’s a little weekend away and a big step for me personally, but I think it will be good. Alex and I, while good, could probably use the time apart. It’s not as nice for him since he still has to work on Saturday, but at the very least he get’s Friday and Saturday night to himself. Oh and Sunday morning, where I won’t wake him up going “FEED ME” like I typically do. Plus I’ll get to bring myself out of my shell and spend time with friends. All and all good times for everyone.

Except. Well. I’m nervous. Which is stupid. I’m spending time with a variety of people. Lexi I’ve known since middle school, and we did grow apart during college, but still that rubber band bond is there. J, her fiancé, is the one who I will actually be riding down with and he and I get along just fine. Then there is Kat, and while I don’t know her per se, Lexi and J have both expressed how famously they think Kat and I will get along. So I should be fine.

If only the butterflies in my stomach would get a grip.

So this will be my road trip plan, smile and have fun! Sounds like a good plan right? I sure hope so, because I don’t know about you, but I’m not the best at stepping out of my comfort zone. And I know this is best for me and for Alex, and hopefully Lexi, J, and Kat too!

No matter what I’m going to try to take photos and since I FINALLY figured out how to batch edit (laugh all you want) in Photoshop, I should be able to get those fairly quickly following the trip. Hope everyone has a great weekend too!

18 responses to “When Planning a Road Trip

  1. Don’t worry – I bet you’ll have a fantastic time. (And I have no idea how to batch edit in Photoshop, so you’re far ahead of my curve on that one!)

  2. Ramblings of a Singleton

    First off, congrats on the stats! You’re doing great 🙂

    Secondly, I think it’s only natural to have butterflies when you’re doing something a little bit different. It doesn’t matter that you mostly know these people, once anyone is taken out of their comfort zone, change can be discomforting. I’ll bet that after the event you’ll be wondering what it was that you were nervous about, but having that feeling to begin with is completely normal. I used to get it all the time when I first started doing business trips abroad (I also like being tucked up under my blanket on the sofa!). Looking forward to some more amazing photos! Have fun 🙂

  3. We’ll have a grand ol’ time! Also, I’m bringing my DSLR so you can go picture happy with it if you like. Just…. be gentle on the new car… 😉

  4. Kat. Yes, THAT one.

    Hi there! You have no idea how much I’m looking forward to hanging out with you! Alexis always tells these fantastic “one time, we did so-and-so” stories, and I know we’ll get along great. Don’t hold my cat’s attitude as a reflection of my own… she’s… well… Siamese. 😛 But honestly! We’re gonna have a great time! 🙂 Can’t wait to see ya!

    • Oh noes! She told you stories? I’m way nicer and less evil than those stories might otherwise indicate. I’d say can’t wait to see ya, but I’ve been and am back already so I’ll go with “It was great to see you and I had an AWESOME time. Any time you wish to move north and be my personal chef just let me know.” 🙂

  5. The more you travel, the more you’ll want to. And you even have someone to ride with! Take a map, take clothes for all occasions and weather, fun money, and enjoy yourself…..

  6. Aren’t social phobias fun? I’m sure once you get there, you’ll have a great time. Enjoy!

  7. Sounds like fun to me! I’d be a little nervous, too, though with a good dose of excitement as well. Plus, I absolutely adore road trips. LOVE them.

    Have a great time!

  8. So, how was it?

    Now we just need to get L and Carrie to do a trip like that with you and Kat. Hopefully those of you who have male counterparts will want to invite us, as well… 😉

  9. I have always wanted to go to Savannah–I hope you enjoy it.