Christmas Gift Budget


Oh my! Christmas is upon us and that means shopping. Lots of shopping. On a budget. I don’t know about you, but my budget is looking nice and skinny this year. Perfect for the trendy skinny jeans.

Not that my rear looks good in skinny jeans, but hey my budget does!

You know the song “On the first day of Christmas my true love gave to me a partridge in a pear tree…” and if you’re like most folks you kind of hum the rest of the song with the exception of “FIVE GOLD RINGS.”

(Why is it that we remember the gold rings part without fail, but never those maids-a-milking?)

Well PNC Advisors did the shopping for us this year and detailed out the costs of the 12 Days of Christmas. It’s a whopping $ 72,608.02!!!!!! I don’t know about you, but blew my budget out to wahoo and back again.

Based on this chart, the only thing my true love is getting is some turtle doves and eight maids who can milk our non-existent cows for an hour.

Maybe they’ll help me clean instead.

We try to set a budget every year, and every year we (OK, honestly mostly Alex who is shopping for me) blows that budget in the excitement of giving gifts. This year, I wanted to at least corral that giving a teensy bit more so we stuck to cash when paying for our purchases. We stuck to the budget 100% when it came to gifts for others. I managed to snag Alex’s gift at an amazing deal thus putting me on budget. And last I heard Alex was on budget as well.

Or so I thought….

Until I was touching up our paint (post on this tomorrow) in our kitchen eat-in area. Just trying to help. But I’m short. So I got on a chair.

And I got YELLED at to get off that unstable chair and be more careful by none other than this sneaky man.

My personal driver

And I think, I think I might know why.

Please ignore any and all dust you see. I haven’t had time yet to clean. Ah who am I kidding…I haven’t even tried to dust up there. It’s to high for me to see it so what do I care?

Does this look like it’s part of the on budget gifts? Nope, not to me either. But you know what…I don’t care. ‘Tis the season after all, right?

8 responses to “Christmas Gift Budget

  1. Ooooh. I don’t know what it is, but I love it!

  2. I wouldn’t want any of the 12 Days of Xmas items. Not worth spending the money on. Give me a fun trip any time.

    You have a good husband! That bag from a jeweler looks enticing!

  3. Something fab in that bag. I can feel it! LOL BTW, first time here. Nice blog 🙂

  4. Sadly I’ve inherited enough jewelry to not want any as a gift. But a Nook? That would make me happy but it’s not in the budget. We’re doing okay budget wise so far. I tend to be the one to go over with Hubby. Hubby goes over on budget with our son but not me. 🙂

    visiting from SITS