Christmas House Decorations


It’s the holiday season, which means it’s time for food, festivities, and your Christmas house decorations! Don’t you just love decorating?

Now you know I love to decorate at least a little bit for every season. I’m still building up our supply, but given we’ve had the house less than a year I think I’m doing pretty dang fine.

Having said that, we’re in a house for our first Christmas. Which means it’s the first year for Alex to hang lights.

Which is interesting because Alex…he has a slight issue with heights. But he has a bigger issue with me on the ladder.

Which is silly. Since I hung the first two strands over our porch all by myself while sitting on our roof.

He also has an issue with me annoying him. Hi Honey!! Uh oh…you aren’t coming down the ladder are you…oh dear.

Speaking of our lights, the big debate is colored lights versus white lights. The whole icicle effect versus big colored bulbs. Alex votes white lights, me I go for the color.

“Icicle lights are classic. They are timeless. They just look nicer. The colored ones are redneck.”

“Wait, So I’m redneck? Or just tasteless?”

“No no no, I’m just saying that typically people who don’t take their lights down year-round are using the colored ones.”

“So? What’s wrong with that?” (here is where I die of laughter at the look on his face)

Well guess what…Welcome to the trashy side of life sweetie! I win! And I’ll take the lights down.

Eventually.

Maybe.

You know, they do go with the colors of my college reunion that is coming up in the spring. Ha! Just kidding. (I think)

From here we move on to the decorations on the door. I choose to go with the wreath I made the Christmas right after we got engaged. (Which is also the year we met, but whose counting.)

The purple and green actually do have significance.Green for Alex’s jeep, you know his one true love. Purple for me because of my college colors and class. (Go Purple Knights!) Also around the door is a strand of garland that used to hang from our apartment balcony. I like it much better around a door.

Of course, I like having a house much better too.

Onward to the interior where I dressed up our mantle for our holiday photos.

Ain’t we cute?? Wait. Don’t answer that. Just let me have my illusions.

I’ve also strung garland over our sliding doors and our holiday pillows and curtains have been hung.

Our red place mats are out on our table and our tree…Well funny think you should ask about our tree. See, we got all this other decorating completed. Then we finished all that painting. And um…

Well it’s been floofed up at least. The bells are our cat-deterrent.

Now if someone would just inform the cats they are supposed to be deterred.

Now I realize not everyone else decorates for the Valentine’s Day, St Paddy’s Day, Easter, Spring, Memorial Day, Fourth of July, Halloween, Fall, and Thanksgiving too BUT….I’m sure most of y’all are decorating for this holiday. So what do your Christmas house decorations look like?

11 responses to “Christmas House Decorations

  1. We’re planning on digging out our decorations this weekend, and I’m excited! We’re in a new house this year, too, so it’s fun to decide where to put everything. The only thing I miss is the mantle from our old house, it made decorating the living room easier. I have to decide where to put our stockings, now.

  2. Ramblings of a Singleton

    I am sooooo jealous of the blue skies in your photos! Please send some my way! Love the wreath, can’t believe you made it?! Have to say, I’m intrigued that you also decorate for Paddy’s Day … now I know I’m a few months ahead of myself in asking this, but do you go all out with the green, white and gold?!

    • Noooo I love our blue skies. As for all-out decorating, um… I don’t know? I tend to put stuff by the door to greet visitors, little table and fireplace decor, and then something fun in the kitchen and guest bathroom/bedroom.

      I’m a nut.

  3. My little lighted silver tree is enough for me. I love all my old “stuff” (decorations) I’ve collected over the years, and it’s fun to look at them every Christmas. Can’t seem to get my candles right thought. The candle sizes don’t fit the candle holder sizes, and then the Christmas candle rings are the wrong colors and sizes. Think I’m going to have to make a trip to JoAnn Fabrics to look at all their Xmas stuff. Looked at Old Time Pottery today and it was a zoo. Everything was such a mess, I could hardly wait to get out of there.

  4. I’ve got the house decorated but because we have snow for the last week, the outside lights are only 1/2 up and by the way, we have the color ones and I don’t think we’re redneck. We used to have the icicles but they don’t last outside very long. We also have a big blowup Scooby Doo that sits in the front yard during the holidays but he’s still in the box. With more snow predicated Scooby might have to sit this year out.

  5. We’ve had the colored versus white lights debate a time or two at our house also! I guess this means it’s time for me to start decorating, huh?
    Love the wreath by the way.

    Stopping by from SITS 🙂

  6. I got nervous for you reading about you sitting on the roof hanging lights! You and your husband look like the happiest, perfect couple in your holiday photo. Great blog by the way.