A Blessing in Disguise


Today is January 27th and twenty-two years ago today, Mom and Dad said “You’ve got a new baby brother!”

My life changed forever. (I think I was still debating if that was for the better when they introduced us)

I know you are a whopping 6’2″ and tower almost a full foot above my head, but at a four and a half years older than you, and having towered over you for thirteen years, I still feel well justified in labeling you my “Little” brother.

Our bond is perhaps, not typical, to the average brother / sister relationship. We’ve been much closer than the average set of siblings for a variety of reasons. We’ve also annoyed the poop out of each other because of that. Yet how many times have you come shopping with me “just because?” Truly, you are an awesome brother to have.

From your days of surf and turfing with your barefoot “skis”..

I mean seriously, look at his feet! He’s like 8 in this photo. HUGE FEET KID, HUGE!

To sitting in the center of the very first row of my college graduation. And not only that, but doing so in my graduation colors so that along with me noticing you, every other woman I graduated with did too…

You have, and always will be, my “Man” of Honor.

Happy Birthday Zachary, aka “Zach Octagon”

8 responses to “A Blessing in Disguise

  1. Ramblings of a Singleton

    What a beautiful post. Thanks for sharing. You’re brother sounds like a great friend to have!

  2. As someone who has *always* wanted a brother I’m super envious!

  3. What a sweet thing to do for your brother! Inspiration for next year — my brother and I aren’t super close since we’re 16 years apart but one of these days we’ll be closer without age having anything to do with it. Happy birthday to your brother! Stopped in from SITs…so glad I did 🙂

  4. What a sweet post! It’s great to share life with a sibling =) visiting from SITS!