It’s Friday, I’m in Love


The last fifteen days I’ve been involved in something at The SITS Girls (I’ll explain more later…) community wherein I spend 30 days becoming, hopefully, a better blogger. I don’t know if you, my regular pals, have noticed but I’m sure trying!

One day we spent coming up with a bunch of new ideas for our blogs and today I’m starting on one of the ideas I had! It’s a new weekly series called “Its Friday, I’m In Love…” which is a total play off a song. (Betcha you can’t name the song AND the movie it comes from without using a search engine!) I’ve decided to post this new series after reflecting on past posts where I’ve shared times where Alex and I have been struggling. You see we’ve resolved to take this step in our real lives and I thought, hey it would be super fun and possibly even helpful (I’m an optimist) to y’all!

My premise is this: Y’all know Alex and I have been um…not so grand. In fact about two weeks ago we hit our bottom. The bottom happened in an IKEA parking garage where we stared at each other after a rather, ahem, pointed discussion and said “Maybe…Maybe we shouldn’t have gotten married. Maybe we should turn and walk away now. Maybe…” Yes, in fact the “D” word was tossed around.

The next morning we continued really talking about what we felt as individuals about marriage in general, our status as a couple, and then we shut up and let each other think. THEN we talked to my parents because having a Mom that is a pastor really helps when you need counseling advice. Finally that night we looked at each other and agreed on the following:

1. Divorce is NOT a word in our vocabulary. We meant WE DO until DEATH DO US PART.  So we needed to live up to what we meant.

2. We needed to find to rediscover each other again. To remember why and how much we love one another. To find our honeymoon moments again. You know, moments like this….

So that is what this whole new series is about. Our Journey to STRENGTHEN our marriage and what all we do to get there. We’ve already taken several huge steps. We’ve started attending church regularly…which is very hard for me. We’ve managed to get through two whole weeks without casting blame and instead rationally talking. We did have one fight, but it was more of a purge of emotions towards a crummy situation that we both were upset about rather than towards one another. (We aren’t perfect by any means, so this is bound to happen. As long as it doesn’t undo the good stuff that came before it and we get back up and keep on trucking ITS OK to fall.)

So on that note here is TODAYS UPDATE:

The weather is WONDERFUL in Georgia. Alex works Saturdays for 12 hours so we’re really only together Sundays. So as of right now we’re planning on getting away from the house and the temptations we have here to spend time focused 100% on each other. We’re headed to a national battlefield where we can picnic lunch after church and then we are going to go for a walk. Maybe take photos. Talk. Laugh (A lot I hope).  And flirt. Yup I said it….WE ARE GOING TO FLIRT. With Each Other. That’s the whole romance thing that every marriage needs a shot of occasionally.

Next week I’ll update you on not only how this weekend went, plus pictures, but also what we did through the week to have a little marriage growing. Hope y’all like this new series!

20 responses to “It’s Friday, I’m in Love

  1. Wow, you’re so open and honest. I love that you two are going to flirt. Sounds like fun and I hope it helps.

  2. Congratulations on making this commitment! And how lucky you are to have a mom to talk to and who can counsel you wisely. We all have these moments and, as someone who is a huge believer in confronting issues, I applaud you for dealing with them rather than sweeping them under the carpet. Good luck and have a great weekend with your husband!

    PS. And how cool is it that SITS led you to this idea.

  3. I’m proud of you both! Positive steps in a good direction……
    Love the idea of getting away on Sundays after church. No temptations to do house work or chores.

  4. The song is by The Cure, titled “Friday, I’m in Love” and ONE of the movies it was used in was “He’s Just Not That Into You.” There have been covers of it etc, in a bunch of other movies. I LOVE Robert Smith and The Cure. Hehe.

    I look forward to this series, just as much as I look forward to the notification in my email notifying me of a new post! Woot! Excited!!! Glad to read that you both are working through it all a day at a time. Don’t ever take life any faster than that. One day at a time. Help when you can, be there when possible, but don’t rush things that aren’t meant to be rushed. I one day look forward to finding that perfect someone just like you have, and being able to share my adventures with them. So Alex and yourself are indeed an inspiration.

  5. Wow! What a good idea. I hope it works. I’m visiting from 31DBB on SITs, and now I’m following!

  6. hi there! *waving,
    just wanted to pop by and say “hi!” i’m so glad to see you incorporated a new series today! i know that this program is a lot of work but you will be so happy when you have completed it…
    similar to marriage… and believe me i know about difficulties and stress of marriage and how easy it is today to just walk away… i admire you for holding on and working for what is important!
    have a great day!
    shelley 🙂

  7. So, I did not know exactly which movie the song was from, but I definitely remembered it is by The Cure. Which I think is so appropriate for you and your husband right now. Your series, which is, in a way, created to heal your relationship is from THE CURE. 🙂
    I think you guys are going to be great together. You figured out a really big piece to the puzzle: Marriage takes work. But it is worth it, because at one point you guys felt so deeply in love you committed to each other for life – that doesn’t just go away.
    Flirting is great because it is fun! Don’t forget to have FUN with one another, don’t let life get in the way of that!!
    I am so happy for you. I am happy that the 31DBBB brought you this precious gift, if it does nothing else for any of us – THIS ALONE would be worth it!!
    Bless you both!
    Nicole 🙂

  8. I’m so glad to hear about your new resolve. I’ll tell anyone flat out that our first year of marriage was our absolute worst – and year seven wasn’t much better. I used to fantasize that he’d just leave me so I could get on with my life! If we made it, anyone can. 🙂 Hope your weekend was full of steps in the right direction.

  9. Congratulations! What a great thing it is to see a couple that truly believes in their wedding vows and is making a real effort to make their marriage work.. good luck!

  10. Ramblings of a Singleton

    Well done on being so open and honest, but mostly especially well done to both of you to committing on making your marriage work. Walking away is the easy option. Hope the weekend brought you both all the happiness you deserve