We’ve Climbed a Mountain


I sure hope y’all had a great weekend! This past weekend was an absolute blessing for Alex and me. In fact, I’d even go so far as to say this is probably one of the best weekends we’ve had in well…months.  The weather was so wonderful that on both Saturday and Sunday we were able to open up the windows and air out the house. The cats really loved this plan because now they could meow at the birds in our bushes and get a reaction!

Saturday I spent at least 2/3rd’s of my day working on Our Marriage Adventure. You see, my web guru (Hi Daddy!) has generously volunteered to help me build a custom website for us. I get to make all the pretties and he’ll make all of that look and function like a website. This has me SOOOOO excited. It’s also exciting because Alex has really been helping in the design process. He’s being involved which is really making me feel cherished and loved. Now, you can get involved in this by popping over to the Facebook page and adding some ideas on elements that you think define Our Marriage Adventure. Like Jeeps! (Oh trust me this has already been put into the designs….with Alex we couldn’t have it any other way.)

Go on, I’ll wait. I L-O-V-E hearing from y’all!!

So you’ve shared? Awesome!

Sunday, Sunday was the absolute best day. We decided since the weather was GORGEOUS out that we should definitely be doing something outside. So we headed to the local park and hiked up Kennesaw Mountain. Now this is a rather nifty park because it’s actually the site of Kennesaw Mountain National Battlefield Park, a battleground area for the War Between the States (that’s the Civil War for you Northern folks).

Hiking the mountain was a lot of fun, even if Alex really is in better shape than I am. He took pains to run up the mountain and then take photos of me hauling it behind him every so often.

However I was able to take some photos of him just relaxing so that I could prove to y’all he didn’t always beat me. Sometimes I got ahead of him too!

The best part was watching the joy in Alex’s eyes as he read the educational signs about the battles that had been fought here, the equipment used, and then seeing examples of each. He really gets a kick out of this kind of thing and I love seeing him this relaxed and happy!

When we got to the top of the mountain we decided that we would take a photo to celebrate, which was fun because as we’re taking the photo Alex keeps pointing out “Oh I see Atlanta!” and “THAT’S STONE MOUNTAIN!?!?!” so the photo took this lovely woman longer than I think either of us expected. But we still got it! I did take a photo from the summit so you could see what exactly he kept exclaiming over. The skyline to the right of the photo is the city of Atlanta, GA. The bump to the left…that you can hardly see…its Stone Mountain. It was a lot more impressive in person.

Since we were both still full of energy (HA….more like He was, I was ready for my nap in the hammock thank you very much) Alex led us down the other side of the mountain. Where he quickly halted to point out that he had found where the sidewalk ends.

I just smiled, nodded, and took a photo. We proceeded about half way down this trail before I caved and asked Alex to take the slightly less strenuous route back down the mountain.

The road.

Despite all that, my favorite part of the weekend was spending time with Alex. Laughing. A lot. Well that and wearing shorts. Good gosh summer can’t get here fast enough for me!

What about y’all? What did y’all do this weekend?

5 responses to “We’ve Climbed a Mountain

  1. Sounds like a great way to spend the weekend…I can’t wait until it is warm enough here to start getting outside. I spent the whole weekend unpacking…just moved last month… Not the most fun but oh so necessary!

  2. Ramblings of a Singleton

    Sounds like you guys had loads of fun. There’s nothing like good weather to lift the spirits! Great pics. Believe it or not, I actually went on a date on Saturday night (hold the front page). Good weekends all round, right?!

    • Ohhh you so have to share all the details about the date Ms. Eternally Single!

      • Ramblings of a Singleton

        Lol! He’s actually an old friend and something of a confirmed bachelor! Did the whole knight on horse bit- Rescued me from the nightmare that the builders created in my apartment. Been spending a bit of time together.