Free Fun Sunday


What would you do if you had next to no money for “fun” and couldn’t stand the walls of your house much longer? Alex and I had no idea that we would find a person that shared an interest like we have, but dang we lucked out!

Antiquing is such a fun way to spend an afternoon. Alex and I love to do this at least once or twice a month if we can. The kicker is we rarely spend any money.(Yes, our entire dining room came from antiquing…we’re not ALWAYS good.) Sunday was the perfect day and we ended up driving to three different stores just exploring.

The coolest part of our trip was the last store where we hit a treasure trove. Country Living magazine recently published articles on what is southern. Well one of the things they talked about are Frogs.

Tennessee Aquarium

No not the frogs you can find at the Tennessee Aquarium.

Glass FLOWER frogs. There were so many I was practically salivating. I wasn’t able to bring any home, but I am going to save my pennies and go back to get some. I will use them for their actual purpose and then for the Country Living idea of a make-up brush holder. How nifty is that? (And country too!)

Alex, he found Sleigh Bells. Yup, Christmas, Santa, Reindeer….bells. He has great memories of both his mother and grandmother keeping bells on the front door (and isn’t that the best idea ever?!?) so that they always knew when someone was walking in. Alex has been very particular in what he wants so to find these was superb for both of us!

Lastly, we both found the one item we only wish we could bring home and use every day. An old gas pump. Price? $1.05!

Antiquing

Don’t you just wish that was real?

What do you do for fun and FREE activities in this lovely economy?

4 responses to “Free Fun Sunday

  1. Man, I wish I could do antiquing – it just always seemed like so much work to make sure you’re not being ripped off!

    And you know I’m too lazy for anything that involves work.

  2. I’m going to go ahead and date myself and admit that I remember when gas was that price.