My Husband’s Logic


Alex and I have been together now for a little over three years. We’ve been married a year and half of those three years and living together for 2 and half of those three years. (Yes we moved fast. But not compared to my parents!)

So in all that time I’ve learned some of my husband’s “quirks” if you like, such as his desire to always stir butter. And cream cheese. And yogurt. And pretty much any slightly soft food item the minute after WE FIRST OPEN IT.

Or his incessant need to straighten things on shelves. From books to pictures, and even little figurines things have to be aligned just so for him to be content. (Yet his laundry ends up in a  pile beside our bed. Every time.)

So you would think in ALL of this time that our conversation last night would have been completely unnecessary, but sometimes I have to look at him and go “Really?” It’s almost like I’m an episode of Grey’s Anatomy, but not the musical because that would be a tad odd.

On the phone:

Me:  “Do you want me to meet you at Home Depot or should we go pick up the trailer together?”

Alex: “Why do I need a trailer? I’ll just put the boards in my Jeep.”

Me: “But they are twelve feet long? You’re Jeep is only five feet long?”

Alex: “And?”

REALLY?!

Then later at the store after we manage to find ten feet long posts that we now needed to fix our porch(along with the fasteners, the new mailbox, and the sink parts that I was NOT expecting to buy) we head out to the Jeeps. Where Alex loads the boards into his Jeep. And then they immediately proceed to over-balance and tip out.

Me: “So how are you going to secure these so you don’t cause a traffic accident?”

Alex: “With this!”

And with that he pulls out STRING! Really?!

Securing items in a Jeep

I should know better, I married the man after all. I know that sometimes his logic and my logic go in opposite directions. I also know that he considers directions, asking for help, and oh I don’t know….CALLING A PRO to be heresy. What I didn’t realize was how far he was willing to take this. So I left him in the parking lot with his string and boards while I headed home. I didn’t want to be behind him while he drove home.

If you were, I apologize now.

Do you ever have those “REALLY?” moments throughout your day?

Our Marriage Adventure Signature

7 responses to “My Husband’s Logic

  1. LOL..only every other moment!!

  2. Marcus Willis

    Alex is AWESOME !

  3. Grandma Judy

    This is a really funny story!