The Great Easter Basket Hunt


click for source

Peter Cottontail
Here comes Peter Cottontail,
Hopping’ down the bunny trail,
Hippity, hoppity,
Easter’s on its way.

Did Peter Cottontail / the Easter Bunny come to your house this year? I saw so many families and tweets and status updates today as families gathered and celebrated the day. Many times I saw references to a hunt for eggs!

Easter came with a bit of a hunt for us too this year. As a surprise to Alex I decided to add a new twist to our traditional Easter Basket exchange by waking him with a fun little note!

“Well Hello Alex, I hopped through early this morning and since you were still sleeping I hid your basket and left you clues in these eggs. Good Luck!”

Easter Basket Hunt

(Camouflage eggs were just the ticket for a hidden egg Easter basket hunt!)

Easter Egg Hunt

The clues continued and were hidden from his sock drawer to our toasting goblets from the wedding and even managed to find themselves out ON TOP of his Jeep. Some were a tad harder to find, perhaps I should have stuck the clue to the one in the coffee grinds a bit closer to the beginning.

Searching for Easter Eggs

After many moments in thought and few moments of just pure laughter Alex was finally able to find and open his Easter Basket. From chocolate rabbits to jelly beans the basket was decorated and filled, plus it even included a toy!

(I mean, really, doesn’t ever great egg seeker deserve a toy to reward all that hard work?)

Finding the Easter Basket, Opening the Easter Basket

Only kicker…um Peter Cottontail forgot to leave some batteries. So for now, Alex’s toy is our latest table decor.

Did you get an Easter basket? What was in it?

Our Marriage Adventure Signature, Custom Blog Signature

4 responses to “The Great Easter Basket Hunt

  1. What a great idea! No basket for me…but I did get a cute card snuck into my purse!

  2. What a sweet, romantic gesture. I hope he had as much fun finding it as you did hiding!

  3. Camouflage eggs? How? Where? Who? What? HOW did you do that? Is it a kit? Alpha Son would have loved that! Of course he’s out of the house & the only “basket” we got were some beautifully colored eggs from our Mennonite friend’s children. Your are way cooler! Love this whole idea!

  4. @Melissa – aww I love that you got a card snuck into your purse. Too cute!

    @Mindee – I think he did. I sure hope he did, because he’s got a lifetime of this to look forward too!

    @LBDD – I think I found them at the dollar store last year. I do know they were super cheap.