What Ripping Out A Fence Will Get You


A couple of weekends ago Alex got the great plan to rip down our fence after having a discussion with our one neighbor.

He didn’t inform me of this decision until I pulled into the driveway with my mouth agape.

So on Easter Sunday after he found his Easter Basket we made a quick trip over to my parents’ house to grab their trailer and came home to finish ripping the stinker of a fence out. (Well Alex pushed and pulled the fence until it came down while I made sweet tea. Inside.)

After a while the entire thing was down and I went outside to help load the mess of remains onto the trailer. When something fun happened.

Loading the Old Fence

We moved into our house over a year ago, and in all that time our neighbors on the one side have only hesitantly waved at Alex and I. The man of the house has spoken to my father, but that is it. Easter Sunday as the fence came down so did the walls of unfamiliarity.

First the dog ran our way, then the Mom came strolling over. Then her daughter and son-in-law joined in the conversation from their back porch. Then her other daughter and finally her husband all made their way over to our house. Where we all stood and chatted. We talked gardens and shrubs, we spoke over cooking and plans for that evening. Before right before we (Alex primarily) got back to work and they left, the Mom looked at us and said “Don’t move for a long time. You are very nice.”

Well, thank You for that Easter miracle. If this is what ripping out a ratty ol’ fence gets us I can’t wait to see what the front porch will garner us!

Our Marriage Adventure signature

12 responses to “What Ripping Out A Fence Will Get You

  1. Awww…I want neighbors like that!

  2. Grandma Judy

    Hooray for the fence removal!

  3. That is really neat – like the fence was keeping the wrong thing out – friendly neighbors! Visiting from SITS and going to go wandering thru your blog now! Already love the title!!

  4. What a surprise of a project! Who knew it would end with getting more neighborly with your neighbors. That is just SO nice to hear, I would love to be closer to ours, but we move so often, I just never have the guts to do it! Thanks for the inspiration today!

  5. Hello! Visiting from SITS. Today people are just not as neighborly as they used to be! Good for you! =)