Flowers to Brighten the Day


I just love flowers don’t you? The color, the scents, and the overall “oomph” they can add to a room really just make me smile. Plus they make a great addition to any room as a touch of décor.

(Alex smiles less in the spring because of pollen. I do not share this poor affliction.)

So is it any wonder that I wish I had a beautiful front yard full of colorful blooms? Not to me! I wish I had a yard that makes passer-by’s go “Ohh and AHH.” A Martha Stewart meets Home and Garden by way of Country Living style yard if you please.

Only kicker?

I also have a black arm. Not just a thumb. Or even a hand. Nope, the whole dang arm is black. It’s an affliction I tell you.

I honestly think plants look at me coming and go “Look droopy fellows, quick! She won’t pick us if we look weak.”

In fact, my boss recently gifted me with the most gorgeous potted Orchid. Alex’s response when he found out my gift…”I’ll pray for it.” (I hope his prayers are strong…the thing will need ‘em!) I want it to live, I hope that counts!

Potted Orchid

So I tend to stick to fake flowers. I may have to dust the darn things, but hey at least my table looks great!

What about you? Are you any good at growing things and keeping them alive?

2 responses to “Flowers to Brighten the Day

  1. I do love to have flowers blooming in the yard. I try to plant stuff that just needs water and not too much maintenance.

  2. Grandma Judy

    Go to some xeriscape garden “showings” and learn how to grow pretty plants easily with very little water. The garden clubs around here do that on weekends, will give advice and they sell the plants right then.
    I’m so allergic to flowers, I can’t have them in my house or anywhere I can smell them. I swear I’ll have to have silk flowers on my casket and grave!